BLANCHIMENT IMMOBILIER.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr Social Icon

Money Laundering in Real Estate: How Scammers Operate

Tax havens, straw man… here are the scenarios with which the authorities have already been confronted and which should alert professionals in the sector.

Tens of thousands of suspicious transaction reports pile up on the desks of Tracfin agents, these super money laundering detectives. Among these confidential notes, only 178 come from real estate agents. However, the sector is a privileged target for networks to hide dirty money. Stories of scams. Purchase of property by a “Politically Exposed Person ”. Madame X approached a real estate agency in the south of France to buy an exceptional property for 3 million. Her husband, who lives like her in a country outside the European Union, will transfer the funds from his account located in a tax haven. Finally, after a declaration of suspicion and research by Tracfin agents, it turns out that Mrs X is the wife of a “Politically Exposed Person” (PPE): her husband is known in his country for having diverted from the money, as attested by the Financial Intelligence Unit of his country of origin. The couple is also subject to an asset freeze procedure.

Buying property with hidden money . Madame X, tenant of her apartment, receives a letter from her landlord informing him that he is going to sell his property. The young woman, unemployed and receiving unemployment benefits, clearly has no financial assets and is not able to respond to the purchase proposal of her owner. However, a few weeks later, they come to an agreement and the owner grants him, via three IOUs, a loan worth 385,000 euros, an amount below the market price. Alerted by the real estate agency, Tracfin agents quickly discovered large cash deposits in the tenant's bank accounts, which did not match her income or her tax return. She is suspected of income concealment and tax evasion.

Purchase of property on behalf of a third party . A 21-year-old maintenance technician visits an apartment offered for sale at 490,000 euros. He explains that he will finance his project without a loan, but with own funds. During the visit, an older woman, who accompanies him, leads the discussion, gets excited and asks the real estate agent if part of the sale can be paid for in cash. Informed, Tracfin agents quickly realized that the assets and income of the young maintenance technician did not correspond to the financing terms.

On the other hand, the accounts of her companion and her husband, managers of a vehicle import-export SME, are suspicious. Large amounts are debited from the company's account and then credited to their personal account. And their tax declaration proves that they reduce their turnover. Tracfin's investigation will show that the maintenance technician was a "straw man" used to screen and allow the couple to invest with sums embezzled from the company.

AL-CAPONE.jpg
The term "money laundering" would originate from the laundry chain used by Al Capone: the "Sanitary Cleaning Shop" in 1928 which served as a legal front for its illicit activities. 
(Alfonso Capone in Italian) said Al Capone, born in Brooklyn (New York) on January 17, 1899 and died in Miami Beach (Florida) on January 25, 1947, is one of the most famous American gangsters of the twentieth century. Nicknamed "Scarface" ("Scarred"), he made his fortune in the trafficking of contraband alcohol during prohibition in the 1920s.

Alphonse Capone

Real estate at the heart of money laundering in France

BLANCHIMENT IMMOBILIER 2.jpg

Bercy is putting pressure on real estate agents to raise more questionable files.

Too many shady real estate deals still fall through the cracks.

It is a sieve into which dirty money, organized crime and even terrorists infiltrate. The real estate sector and its million annual transactions escape the radar of the super financial detectives of Bercy. In this cutting-edge service in charge of "processing intelligence and taking action against clandestine financial circuits", called Tracfin, better results are demanded. And in particular a very clear improvement in the collaboration of those who see everything that is happening: real estate agents. The procedure is simple: in the event of suspicion, they are required to send a note to the Tracfin agents. But what are the profiles at risk? A memo that has just been updated and will be presented this Tuesday to professionals draws a robot portrait of the customer to be wary of.

BLANCHIMENT IMMOBILIER 3.jpg

Officers risk a heavy fine

They have been supposed to monitor, verify, alert for 20 years. Yet very few real estate agents do. In 2017, out of the 70,000 suspicious transaction reports received by Tracfin, only 178 came from real estate agents. A ratio of 0.25%! Bankers and insurers are by far the top of the class, with 80% of declarations. So real estate agents should roll up their sleeves. Behind the scenes, agents from the Directorate General for Competition, Consumer Affairs and Fraud Control (DGCCRF) are on the lookout. And control! "A professional who has not alerted Tracfin during a suspicious sale risks a heavy fine, up to 5 million euros, and a temporary ban on exercising," warns Virginie Beaumeunier, its general manager.

"A real estate agent is not paid to do that"

Invited this Tuesday to discuss their obligations, real estate agents defend themselves. "I'm not sure that we can do better, loose Laurent Vimont, head of the Century 21 network. A malicious person who seeks to launder money does not go through an agency: you have to show a white leg , give his identity papers as well as information on the financing which can be a source of complication. »Would money laundering in the real estate sector be exaggerated by Tracfin? Eric Allouche, the director of the ERA network, does not go that far. “It is normal to fight against money laundering. "However, the network boss is annoyed by these" heavy red tape "that is imposed on professionals. “Making a declaration of suspicion takes time, requires work,” he lists. However, a real estate agent is not paid to do that, he has to run his agency. "

Each note can initiate an investigation

But all the networks recognize that training could improve the system. "Especially with the high turnover in our sector, we are not immune to having a poorly trained real estate agent who, seduced by the lure of money, forgets to make a statement", recognizes Fabrice Abraham, the president of the Guy Hoquet network. But what good is this espionage around the corner? To dismantle networks. Each note can launch an investigation, or complete an ongoing investigation. Last year, the 70,000 declarations made it possible to transmit 2,700 files to justice, the tax administration or the various intelligence services. Often the result is the dismantling of money laundering networks.

By / Aurélie Lebelle

BLANCHIMENT IMMOBILIER.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr Social Icon

Blanchiment d’argent dans l’immobilier : comment les escrocs opèrent

Paradis fiscaux, homme de paille… voici les scénarios auxquels les autorités ont déjà été confrontées et qui doivent alerter les professionnels du secteur.

Des dizaines de milliers de déclarations de soupçons s'entassent sur les bureaux des agents de Tracfin, ces super détectives du blanchiment d'argent. Parmi ces notes confidentielles, 178 seulement proviennent d'agents immobiliers. Pourtant, le secteur est une cible privilégiée des réseaux pour dissimuler de l'argent sale. Récits d'escroqueries. Achat d'un bien par une « Personne politiquement exposée ». Madame X s'est rapprochée d'une agence immobilière du sud de la France pour acheter un bien d'exception à 3 millions. Son mari, qui vit comme elle dans un pays en dehors de l'Union européenne, versera les fonds depuis son compte situé dans un paradis fiscal. Finalement, après une déclaration de soupçon et des recherches des agents de Tracfin, il s'avère que madame X est la femme d'une « Personne politiquement exposée » (PPE) : son mari est connu dans son pays pour avoir détourné de l'argent, comme l'atteste la Cellule de renseignements financiers de son pays d'origine. Le couple fait par ailleurs l'objet d'une procédure de gel des avoirs.

Achat d'un bien avec de l'argent dissimulé. Madame X, locataire de son appartement, reçoit une lettre de son propriétaire l'informant qu'il va vendre son bien. La jeune femme, sans emploi et bénéficiaire des allocations-chômage, n'a visiblement pas de patrimoine financier et n'est pas en capacité de répondre à la proposition d'achat de son propriétaire. Pourtant, quelques semaines plus tard, ils se mettent d'accord et le propriétaire lui consent, via trois reconnaissances de dettes, un prêt d'une valeur de 385 000 euros, un montant inférieur au prix du marché. Alertés par l'agence immobilière, les agents de Tracfin ont rapidement découvert des dépôts en espèces importants sur les comptes bancaires de la locataire, qui ne correspondaient pas à ses revenus ni à sa déclaration de revenus. Elle est soupçonnée d'une dissimulation de revenus et de fraude fiscale.

Achat d'un bien pour le compte d'une personne tierce. Un technicien de maintenance de 21 ans visite un appartement proposé à la vente à 490 000 euros. Il explique qu'il financera son projet sans prêt, mais avec des fonds propres. Pendant la visite, une femme plus âgée, qui l'accompagne, mène la discussion, s'enthousiasme et demande à l'agent immobilier si une partie de la vente peut être réglée en espèces. Informés, les agents de Tracfin se sont rapidement rendu compte que le patrimoine et les revenus du jeune technicien de maintenance ne correspondaient pas aux modalités de financement.

Par contre, les comptes de son accompagnatrice et son époux, gérants d'une PME d'import-export de véhicules, sont suspicieux. De forts montants sont débités du compte de la société puis crédités sur leur compte personnel. Et leur déclaration fiscale prouve qu'ils minorent leur chiffre d'affaires. L'enquête de Tracfin démontrera que le technicien de maintenance était un « homme de paille » utilisé pour faire écran et permettre au couple d'investir avec des sommes détournées de la société.

AL-CAPONE.jpg
Le terme « blanchiment d’argent » aurait pour origine la chaîne de blanchisserie utilisée par Al Capone : la "Sanitary Cleaning Shop" en 1928 qui lui servait de façade légale à ses activités illicites. 
(Alfonso Capone en italien) dit Al Capone, né à Brooklyn (New York) le 17 janvier 1899 et mort à Miami Beach (Floride) le 25 janvier 1947, est un des plus célèbres gangsters américains du XXe siècle. Surnommé « Scarface » (« Balafré »), il fait fortune dans le trafic d'alcool de contrebande durant la prohibition dans les années 1920.

Alphonse Capone

L’immobilier au cœur du blanchiment d’argent en France

BLANCHIMENT IMMOBILIER 2.jpg

Bercy met un coup de pression aux agents immobiliers pour faire plus remonter les dossiers douteux.

Trop de montages immobiliers louches passent encore entre les mailles du filet.

C'est une passoire où s'infiltrent l'argent sale, le crime organisé, voire les terroristes. Le secteur immobilier et son million de transactions annuelles échappent aux radars des super détectives financiers de Bercy. Dans ce service de pointe en charge du « traitement du renseignement et action contre les circuits financiers clandestins », baptisé Tracfin, on exige de meilleurs résultats. Et notamment une amélioration très nette de la collaboration de ceux qui voient tout ce qui se passe : les agents immobiliers. La procédure est simple : en cas de suspicion, ils sont tenus de faire remonter une note aux agents de Tracfin. Mais quels sont les profils à risque ? Un mémo qui vient d'être mis à jour et sera présenté ce mardi aux professionnels dresse un portrait-robot du client dont il faut se méfier.

BLANCHIMENT IMMOBILIER 3.jpg

Les agents risquent une lourde amende

Voilà 20 ans qu'ils sont censés surveiller, vérifier, alerter. Pourtant, très peu d'agents immobiliers le font. En 2017, sur les 70 000 déclarations de soupçon reçues par Tracfin, seulement 178 émanaient des agents immobiliers. Un ratio de 0,25 % ! Les banquiers et les assureurs sont de très loin les premiers de la classe, avec 80 % des déclarations. Alors, les agents immobiliers ont intérêt à se remonter les manches. En coulisses, les agents de la Direction générale de la concurrence, de la consommation et de la répression des fraudes (DGCCRF) veillent. Et contrôlent ! « Un professionnel qui n'aura pas alerté Tracfin lors d'une vente suspicieuse risque une lourde amende, jusqu'à 5 millions d'euros, et une interdiction temporaire d'exercer », prévient Virginie Beaumeunier, sa directrice générale.

«Un agent immobilier n'est pas payé pour faire ça»

Conviés ce mardi pour discuter de leurs obligations, les agents immobiliers se défendent. « Je ne suis pas certain que l'on puisse faire mieux, lâche Laurent Vimont, à la tête du réseau Century 21. Une personne mal intentionnée qui cherche à blanchir de l'argent ne passe pas par une agence : il faut montrer patte blanche, donner ses papiers d'identité ainsi que des éléments sur le financement qui peuvent être une source de complication. » Le blanchiment dans le secteur de l'immobilier serait-il exagéré par Tracfin ? Eric Allouche, le directeur du réseau ERA, ne va pas jusque-là. « Il est normal de lutter contre le blanchiment. » Pour autant, le patron de réseau s'agace de ces « lourdes tracasseries administratives » que l'on impose aux professionnels. « Faire une déclaration de soupçon prend du temps, demande du travail, énumère-t-il. Or, un agent immobilier n'est pas payé pour faire ça, il doit faire tourner son agence. »

Chaque note peut lancer une enquête

Mais tous les réseaux reconnaissent que les formations pourraient améliorer le système. « Surtout qu'avec le fort turn-over que connaît notre secteur, nous ne sommes pas à l'abri d'avoir un agent immobilier mal formé qui, séduit par l'appât du gain, oublie de faire une déclaration », reconnaît Fabrice Abraham, le président du réseau Guy Hoquet. Mais à quoi sert cet espionnage du coin de la rue ? A démanteler des réseaux. Chaque note peut lancer une enquête, ou compléter une investigation en cours. L'an passé, les 70 000 déclarations ont permis de transmettre 2700 dossiers à la justice, à l'administration fiscale ou aux différents services de renseignement. Avec à la clé, bien souvent, le démantèlement de réseaux de blanchiment.

Par / Aurélie Lebelle