Acerca of

 Whistleblowers 

Who are the whistleblowers?

According to international law, a whistleblower is "any person who makes reports or reveals information concerning threats or harm to the general interest in the context of his employment relationship, in the public or private sector". A definition established in 2014. This can relate to crimes or misdemeanors, miscarriages of justice, corruption, breaches of security, public health or the environment, abuse of power, illegal use of public funds, serious mismanagement, conflicts of interest or the concealment of related evidence.

What protection for whistleblowers?

Whistleblowers are protected against professional reprisals and thus benefit from a reduced burden of proof. They also benefit from the regime of penal irresponsibility in the event that the report has resulted in the violation of a protected secret.

Is it illegal to be a whistleblower?

Article L. 1132-3-3 of the Labor Code prohibits any discriminatory measure (from recruitment to dismissal, including access to an internship or training), direct or indirect, against a person reporting an alert in compliance with the law.

How do I get whistleblower status?

The employer must set up a special register and establish a procedure for collecting reports. The procedure specifies the following information: How the whistleblower addresses his report to the direct or indirect superior, to the employer or to the referent.

How to exercise a right of alert?

To exercise their right of alert, an employee can go through the Social Enterprise Committee (CSE): In this case, the CSE must immediately notify management in writing of this alert. An investigation is then launched by the management of the company with the representatives of the CSE to identify the nature of the danger.

How to set up a right to alert?

According to the labor code, the CHSCT member who wants to use his right to alert must do so in writing. The document must be dated, signed and contain three important information: the workstation (s)  concerned, the nature of the danger and its cause, the identity of the potentially exposed employees.

What does the social and economic committee's (CSE) right to alert consist of?  

The members of the Social and Economic Committee (CSE) have several alert procedures allowing them to act when they become aware of information or worrying facts. They alert the employer in particular in the event of serious and imminent danger and in the event of damage to the physical and mental health of employees. Procedures vary depending on the size of the business.

Right to alert in the event of an infringement of the rights of individuals

When a member of the CSE notices, in particular through the intermediary of an employee, that there is an infringement of the rights of persons in the company (moral harassment for example), he immediately contacts the employer. The employer immediately proceeds to an investigation with the member of the CSE. He must take the necessary measures to remedy the situation. The member of the CSE seizes the industrial tribunal if the employer does not take any action or in the event of disagreement on this infringement. The employee concerned gives his agreement for this process.

Right to alert in the event of serious and imminent danger

The CSE member who uses his right to alert must immediately inform the employer and enter this alert in writing in the register of serious and imminent dangers. The special register where alerts are recorded is opened by the employer. The pages of this register are numbered. This alert is dated and signed. It shows the following information:

  • Workstations affected by the cause of the observed danger

  • Nature and cause of this danger

  • Name of exposed workers

The employer immediately investigates with the member of the CSE who triggered the alert. He must take the necessary measures to remedy the situation. At the end of the investigation, an information sheet is sent to the labor inspector. In the event of disagreement between the employer and the CSE member, the employer convenes the CSE within 24 hours. The labor inspector and the prevention service officer of the Pension and Occupational Health Insurance Fund (CARSAT) are informed and can attend the meeting. The labor inspector can put the employer on notice to remedy the situation.

Right of alert in the event of a serious risk to public health and the environment

A member of the CSE who notices a serious risk to public health or the environment in the company must notify his employer. The alert is recorded in writing in a special register. The special register where alerts are recorded is opened by the employer. The pages of this register are numbered. The alert is dated and signed. It shows the following information:

  • Products or manufacturing processes used or implemented by the establishment which the worker believes in good faith to present a serious risk to public health or the environment

  • Possible consequences for public health or the environment

  • Any other information useful for assessing the alert recorded

Responsibility of the employer

Violations of health and safety rules may engage the responsibility of the employer.

Each violation is punishable by a fine in accordance with the labor code.

A statute in international law?

Whistleblowers have become an international issue, in particular because of the nature of the revelations made but also their potential protection or their presence in international organizations. For many commentators, international law therefore presents itself as a necessary basis for the development of minimum protection. It is therefore necessary to reflect on the optimal institutional and normative framework to determine this status as well as what it should contain.

Contact us so that we can

start working together

Acerca de

 Lanceurs d'alertes 

Quels sont les lanceurs d'alerte ?

Selon les lois internationales, est lanceur d’alerte "toute personne qui fait des signalements ou révèle des informations concernant des menaces ou un préjudice pour l’intérêt général dans le contexte de sa relation de travail, dans le secteur public ou privé". Une définition établie en 2014. Cela peut concerner les crimes ou délits, les erreurs judiciaires, la corruption, les atteintes à la sécurité, la santé publique ou l’environnement, les abus de pouvoir, l’usage illégal de fonds publics, les graves erreurs de gestion, les conflits d’intérêts ou la dissimulation des preuves afférentes.

Quelle protection pour les lanceurs d'alerte ?

Les lanceurs d'alerte sont protégés contre les représailles professionnelles et bénéficient ainsi d'un allégement de la charge de la preuve. Ils bénéficient également du régime d'irresponsabilité pénale dans le cas où le signalement a entraîné la violation d'un secret protégé.

Est-ce illégal d'être lanceur d'alerte ?

L'article L. 1132-3-3 du Code du travail interdit toute mesure discriminatoire (du recrutement au licenciement, en passant par l'accès à un stage ou une formation), directe ou indirecte, à l'encontre d'une personne ayant signalé une alerte dans le respect de la loi.

Comment obtenir le statut de lanceur d'alerte ?

L'employeur doit mettre en place un registre spécial et établir une procédure de recueil des signalements. La procédure précise les informations suivantes : Comment le lanceur d'alerte adresse son signalement au supérieur direct ou indirect, à l'employeur ou au référent.

Comment exercer un droit d'alerte ?

Pour exercer son droit d'alerte, un salarié peut passer par le Comité des Social Entreprise (CSE) : Dans ce cas, le CSE doit immédiatement prévenir la direction par écrit de cette alerte. Une enquête est alors lancée par la direction de l'entreprise avec les représentants du CSE pour identifier la nature du danger.

Comment mettre en place un droit d'alerte ?

Selon le code du travail, le membre du CHSCT qui veut utiliser son droit d'alerte doit le faire par écrit. Le document doit être daté, signé et comporter trois renseignements importants : le ou les postes de travail concernés, la nature du danger et sa cause, l'identité des collaborateurs potentiellement exposés.

En quoi consiste le droit d'alerte du comité social et économique (CSE) ? 

Les membres du comité social et économique (CSE) disposent de plusieurs procédures d'alerte leur permettant d'agir lorsqu'ils ont connaissance d'informations ou de faits préoccupants. Ils alertent l'employeur notamment en cas de danger grave et imminent et en cas d'atteinte à la santé physique et mentale des salariés. Les procédures varient selon la taille de l’entreprise.

Droit d'alerte en cas d'atteinte aux droits des personnes

Lorsqu'un membre du CSE constate, notamment par l'intermédiaire d'un salarié, qu'il existe dans l'entreprise une atteinte aux droits des personnes (harcèlement moral par exemple), il saisit immédiatement l'employeur. L'employeur procède sans délai à une enquête avec le membre du CSE. Il doit prendre les mesures nécessaires pour remédier à la situation. Le membre du CSE saisit le conseil de prud'hommes si l'employeur ne prend aucune mesure ou en cas de divergence sur cette atteinte. Le salarié concerné donne son accord pour cette démarche.

Droit d'alerte en cas de danger grave et imminent

Le membre du CSE qui utilise son droit d'alerte doit immédiatement informer l'employeur et consigner cette alerte par écrit sur le registre des dangers graves et imminents. Le registre spécial où sont consignées les alertes est ouvert par l'employeur. Les pages de ce registre sont numérotées. Cette alerte est datée et signée. Elle indique les informations suivantes :

  • Postes de travail concernés par la cause du danger constaté

  • Nature et cause de ce danger

  • Nom des travailleurs exposés

L'employeur procède sans délai à une enquête avec le membre du CSE qui a déclenché l'alerte. Il doit prendre les mesures nécessaires pour remédier à la situation. À la fin de l'enquête, une fiche de renseignements est adressée à l’inspecteur du travail. En cas de désaccord entre l'employeur et le membre du CSE, l'employeur réunit le CSE dans un délai de 24 heures. L'inspecteur du travail et l'agent du service de prévention de la Caisse d'Assurance Retraite et de la Santé au Travail (CARSAT) sont informés et peuvent assister à la réunion. L'inspecteur du travail peut mettre en demeure l'employeur de remédier à la situation.

Droit d'alerte en cas de risque grave pour la santé publique et l'environnement

Un membre du CSE qui constate dans l'entreprise un risque grave pour la santé publique ou l'environnement doit avertir son employeur. L'alerte est consignée par écrit dans un registre spécial. Le registre spécial où sont consignées les alertes est ouvert par l'employeur. Les pages de ce registre sont numérotées. L'alerte est datée et signée. Elle indique les informations suivantes :

  • Produits ou procédés de fabrication utilisés ou mis en œuvre par l'établissement dont le travailleur estime de bonne foi qu'ils présentent un risque grave pour la santé publique ou l'environnement

  • Conséquences éventuelles pour la santé publique ou l'environnement

  • Toute autre information utile à l'appréciation de l'alerte consignée

Responsabilité de l'employeur

Les infractions aux règles de santé et de sécurité peuvent engager la responsabilité de l'employeur.

Chaque infraction est passible d'une amende conformément au code du travail.

Un statut en droit international?

Les lanceurs d’alerte sont devenus une problématique internationale notamment en raison de la nature des révélations faites mais également de leur protection potentielle ou encore de leur présence dans les organisations internationales. Pour de nombreux commentateurs le droit international se présente dès lors comme un socle nécessaire à l’élaboration d’une protection minimale. Il convient dès lors de réfléchir au cadre tant institutionnel que normatif optimal pour déterminer ce statut ainsi qu’à ce qu’il devrait contenir.

Contactez-nous pour que nous puissions

commencer à travailler ensemble