Acerca of

 Corruption 

OMSAC or the fight against corruption at the international level

Corruption is a brake on economic and sustainable development. It also promotes the development of criminal and terrorist activities. The poorest populations are the first to be affected by its consequences.
 
The first universal legal instrument intended to prevent and combat this phenomenon, which entered into force in 2005, was the United Nations Convention against Corruption, known as the Merida Convention.​ This legal tool encourages States parties to this legal instrument to criminalize and penalize active bribery of national, international and foreign public officials.​

This convention also organizes the return of embezzled or laundered assets and the extradition of persons convicted of corruption.​ The said Convention recognizes the role of civil society in the fight against corruption under its article 13, calling on governments to increase transparency, ensure effective public access to information and also promote public participation in decision-making processes. .​

This same convention strengthens the capacity and commitment of civil society, particularly in developing countries, by providing training to NGOs on the Convention and its review mechanism.​

It also supports the engagement of civil society during intergovernmental meetings and provides the necessary legal tools so that it can work constructively with governments and the private sector in the implementation of the said Convention.​ To do this, WHOAC is a global organization committed to fighting corruption and crime around the world.

Its main objective is to provide intelligence and analysis, and to raise awareness through a combination of global pressure tactics.

It is the result of soon six (6) years of consultation and meetings bringing together several national and international organizations and associations with the same objective: the fight against corruption and crime in all its forms and in all areas of the private sector or state.

OMSAC contributes to the prevention of corruption and crime in all sectors of activity and mainly to support whistleblowers, sensitize and engage citizens in the fight against these scourges, enforce relevant international laws and legislation. in the fight against corruption, monitor and follow up on cases of proven corruption.

With the support and effort of these international organizations and associations dedicated to the fight against corruption and crime in the world, the members of OMSAC organized a general assembly on February 10, 2020 in Geneva which resulted in the election of the Algerian Mourad MAZAR, as president for a mandate of 5 years as envisaged by the statutes.

In accordance with the statutes of the organization, the elected president appointed the 8 members of the executive board who will be in charge of the management of the various departments of OMSAC.

The elected president instructed the members of the executive board to get to work with the first objective of setting up the 2020 - 2025 roadmap, the structuring of the OMSAC and the preparation of the first meeting with the international media.

Finally, the President pledged to strengthen anti-corruption surveillance and implement the United Nations Convention against Corruption (UNCAC).

TAUX DE CORRUPTION & DEMOCRATIE

Rate of corruption and democracy in the world

In first place is Denmark, followed by other strong democratic regimes: New Zealand (2nd), Finland, Singapore, Sweden and Switzerland (tied for 3rd position) or Norway (7th). In contrast, the most corrupt nations are Somalia (180th), Syria and South Sudan (178th), Yemen (177th), North Korea (176th), Sudan, Guinea Bissau, Equatorial Guinea and Afghanistan (172nd), Libya and Burundi (170th), Venezuela and Iraq (168th).

The situation in these highly corrupt countries is so bad that their populations are faced with both insecurity, resource shortages, a weak or non-existent state, insufficient infrastructure, a worrying health situation and a poor quality education system. .

Transparency International's Corruption Perceptions Index report for the year 2018. The darker colors represent the most corrupt countries.

Abuse of power for personal gain

There are many reasons why corruption is so damaging to the democratic system. Usually, when the elites are extremely corrupt, they don't really care about the rest of the population, or even their own country. Indeed, corruption is generally defined as an abuse of power for personal gain.

 

Corruption breaks the link between collective decision-making and the ability of the people to influence those decisions (normally through their vote and participation). Yet it is this link that defines democracy.

In addition, for a country to be democratic, there must be a minimum of public services. Without an adequate education system, good health and a relatively safe environment, people's participation in political debates is reduced to a minimum.

It is clear that corruption implies a failure of public services as bribes (the most common form of corruption) lead to a misallocation of resources, with decision-makers more concerned with obtaining the bribe. more important than making the best choice. To top it off, corruption increases the cost of public services. As a result, corrupt countries invest less and less and become poorer.

A crumbling of democratic culture

In addition, the rising rate of corruption leads to a deep distrust of the people towards the elites and the government. In a highly corrupt country, the population does not trust its politicians or its officials. If citizens are suspicious or even fearful of their elites, they will not participate in votes, get involved in civil society, or participate in public debates.

 

As a result, the culture of democracy is crumbling. Finally, the worst-case scenario is the control of the state by the rulers, which can lead to total tyranny. For example, when the people of Venezuela began to call for reforms after years of economic decline and rampant corruption, the reaction of the elites was to imprison opponents, use violence as a means of coercion, and to isolate the country.

Drifts around the world

The last index of perception of corruption should prompt us to pay attention to the dramatic effects of this type of crime on the internal workings of democracies. Besides Venezuela, this kind of worrying drift concerns Guatemala, Turkey, Hungary and even the United States. These cases and many others demonstrate that democracy is a precious gem that must be constantly watched over.

 

By: Bertrand Venard

Shame on the game of corruption that destroys the name of a country

 Break your silence and protest against corruption

 People corrupt power
and power corrupts people

Think about improving your nation and avoid corruption

In a democracy, no place
for corruption

10 tips to prevent corruption risks in your institution

1. Appropriate the anti-corruption approach

The fight against corruption is not simply based on the implementation of criminal rules. All the states fighting against this phenomenon agree on the need to take preventive action and involve civil society. Each institution can indeed act, at its level, to prevent and detect breaches of probity. Any company, administration or association wishing to effectively prevent corruption must design an internal anti-corruption system.

2. Raise awareness at the top of the hierarchy

Preventing corruption does not consist of displaying good intentions but requires the involvement of the top levels of your institution, that is to say the highest summits of the executive and the legislative body. The effectiveness of the system is based on consistency between the actions implemented within the institution and the managerial discourse: action must be taken with words.

3. Map the risks

Describing the work processes within your institution is crucial: ask yourself the right questions. How are recruitments carried out? How did the markets go? How are day-to-day decisions made? For each of the processes identified, you can thus assess the risk of corruption at each stage and adapt your working methods accordingly. For example, a bank that opens a new account can delegate this function to an account manager. But if the client presents a certain level of risk, the decision will be taken to delegate the decision to an agency director or even to a regional management level. Likewise, a community which makes a contract can organize the decision in a collegial manner when a risk is identified.

4. Have a comprehensive approach

Risk mapping should not only be done on a part of your activities. Experience shows that wrongdoing is concentrated in areas where there is no control. Do not give a restrictive signal about the scope of corruption prevention efforts. For example, anti-corruption activity cannot be limited to the internal perimeter of your institution, leaving aside the analysis of relations with third parties (suppliers, etc.).

5. Focus on corruption issues and not just financial issues

It is common practice to adapt the efforts of an institution according to the financial stakes of a particular decision. When it comes to preventing corruption, be vigilant. This stake-based approach must not lead to neglecting actions with a low financial impact, which are sometimes occasions for behavior to be prohibited.

6. Define a mandatory code of conduct

The anti-corruption code of conduct describes the behavior to be observed in risky situations, and specifies the penalties in the event of unauthorized behavior. It should not be just a code of "good conduct", but standards allowing actors to distinguish between desired actions and prohibited actions. In this respect, the code of conduct is an element of the internal regulations of your institution.

7. Set up internal control

If your institution already has internal control or audit tools, the anti-corruption approach can be introduced quite easily as a variation of the work already done, with the aim of controlling corruption risks. If this device does not exist, you can adapt the signature delegation rules according to the issues, or even organize mutual control between the agents. It may also mean submitting to compulsory publication of certain decisions. In all cases, the internal control system must give rise to a regular review by the governing authorities, to adapt anti-corruption actions according to the situations encountered.

8. Implement an internal whistleblower system and protect whistleblowers

The establishment of an effective anti-corruption system considerably reduces the risk of questioning the institution and its leaders. It obviously does not eliminate the risk of the occurrence of isolated acts of corruption against which collective prevention mechanisms can do nothing. To effectively prevent such acts, it is necessary to organize the escalation of alerts through an efficient information circuit and to take all the care necessary for their treatment. People who take the risk of exposing themselves by revealing criminal or risky facts must be protected. The law of December 9, 2016 makes the protection of whistleblowers a requirement.

9. Train staff and managers

Training is an important part of a good anti-corruption framework. Experience shows that knowledge of risky behavior is sometimes insufficient. To save resources, cascade training (training of trainers) which allows the rapid dissemination of good practices can be considered.

10. Request the Modial Anti-Corruption Security Organization

For the implementation of the anti-corruption program, or for the treatment of situations identified in the past, you can receive advice or obtain answers from the World Anti-Corruption Security Organization. The articles of association entrust it with this advisory mission which it can exercise with regard to all persons, public or private, natural or legal. OMSAC stands ready to support actors wishing to design a good anti-corruption system, in order to ensure, for example, the dissemination of good practices.

To go further, you can also self-assess using the questionnaire available on this link from our legal department. Detailed recommendations concerning the different sections of the international anti-corruption system are also available.

Acerca de

 Corruption 

OMSAC ou la lutte contre la corruption au niveau international

La corruption constitue un frein au développement économique et durable, Elle favorise par ailleurs le développement d’activités criminelles et terroristes. Les populations les plus pauvres sont les premières touchées par ses conséquences.
 
Entrée en vigueur en 2005, le premier instrument juridique universel destiné à prévenir et à lutter contre ce phénomène, fut la Convention des Nations unies contre la corruption dite Convention de Mérida.​ Cet outil juridique incite les États parties à cet instrument juridique à incriminer et sanctionner pénalement la corruption active d’agents publics nationaux, internationaux et étrangers.​

Cette convention organise également la restitution des avoirs détournés ou blanchis et l’extradition de personnes convaincues de corruption.​ Ladite Convention reconnaît le rôle de la société civile dans la lutte contre la corruption sous son article 13, en appelant les gouvernements à accroître la transparence, assurer l'accès effectif du public à l'information et aussi promouvoir la participation du public aux processus décisionnels.​

Cette même convention renforce la capacité et l'engagement de la société civile, en particulier dans les pays en voie de développement, en offrant des formations aux ONG sur la Convention et son mécanisme d'examen.​

Elle soutient également l'engagement de la société civile lors des réunions intergouvernementales et fournit les outils juridiques nécessaires pour qu'elle puisse travailler de manière constructive avec les gouvernements et le secteur privé dans la mise en œuvre de ladite Convention.​ Pour ce faire, l’OMSAC est une organisation mondiale décidée à lutter contre la corruption et la criminalité partout dans le monde.

Son principal objectif est de fournir des renseignements et des analyses, et sensibiliser les populations grâce à une combinaison de moyens de pression à l’échelle mondiale.

Elle est le fruit de bientôt six (6) années de concertation et de réunions regroupant plusieurs organisations et associations nationales et internationales ayant le même objectif : la Lutte contre la corruption et la criminalité sous toutes ses formes et dans tous les domaines du secteur privé ou étatique.

L’OMSAC contribue à la prévention de la corruption et la criminalité dans tous les secteurs d’activité et principalement soutenir les lanceurs d’alerte, sensibiliser et engager les citoyens dans la lutte contre ces fléaux, faire application des lois et la législation internationales relatives à la lutte contre la corruption, surveillez et suivre les cas de corruption avérée.

Forte du soutien et de l’effort de ces organisations et associations internationales dévouées à la lutte contre la corruption et la criminalité dans le monde, les membres de l’OMSAC ont organisé une assemblée générale le 10 février 2020 à Genève qui a abouti a l'élection de l’Algérien Mourad MAZAR, comme président pour un mandat de 5 ans comme prévu par les statuts.

Conformément aux statuts de l’organisation, le président élu a désigné les 8 membres du bureau exécutif qui auront en charge la gestion des différents départements de l'OMSAC.

Le président élu a chargé les membres du bureau exécutif de se mettre au travail avec comme premier objectif la mise en place de la feuille de route 2020 - 2025, la structuration de l'OMSAC et la préparation de la première rencontre avec les médias internationaux.

Enfin, le Président s’est engagé à renforcer la surveillance en matière d’anticorruption et à mettre en œuvre l’application de la Convention des Nations Unies contre la corruption (CNUCC).

TAUX DE CORRUPTION & DEMOCRATIE

Taux de corruption et démocratie dans le monde

Au premier rang se trouve le Danemark, suivi d'autres solides régimes démocratiques : la Nouvelle-Zélande (2e), la Finlande, Singapour, la Suède et la Suisse (ex æquo en 3e position) ou la Norvège (7e). À l'opposé, les nations les plus corrompues sont la Somalie (180e), la Syrie et le Soudan du Sud (178e), le Yémen (177e), la Corée du Nord (176e), le Soudan, la Guinée Bissau, la Guinée équatoriale et l'Afghanistan (172e), la Libye et le Burundi (170e), le Venezuela et l'Irak (168e).

La situation dans ces pays fortement corrompus est si mauvaise que leurs populations sont à la fois confrontées à l'insécurité, aux pénuries de ressources, à un État faible ou inexistant, des infrastructures insuffisantes, une situation sanitaire préoccupante et un système éducatif de médiocre qualité.

Rapport de Transparency International sur l'Indice de perception de la corruption pour l'année 2018. Les couleurs les plus sombres représentent les pays les plus corrompus.

Un abus de pouvoir à des fins personnelles

De nombreuses raisons expliquent pourquoi la corruption porte si gravement atteinte au système démocratique. En général, lorsque les élites sont extrêmement corrompues, elles ne se soucient pas vraiment du reste de la population, ni même de leur propre pays. En effet, la corruption se définit en général comme un abus de pouvoir à des fins personnelles.

 

La corruption brise le lien entre la prise de décision collective et la capacité du peuple à influer sur ces décisions (normalement par son vote et sa participation). Or c'est ce lien qui définit la démocratie.

De plus, pour qu'un pays soit démocratique, il faut un minimum de services publics. Sans un système éducatif suffisant, une bonne situation sanitaire et un environnement relativement sûr, la participation du peuple aux débats politiques est réduite au minimum.

Il est clair que la corruption implique une défaillance des services publics dans la mesure où les pots-de-vin (la forme la plus courante de corruption) conduisent à une mauvaise répartition des ressources, les décisionnaires étant davantage soucieux d'obtenir le pot-de-vin le plus important que de faire le meilleur choix. Pour couronner le tout, la corruption augmente le coût des services publics. Par conséquent, les pays corrompus investissent de moins en moins et s'appauvrissent.

Un effritement de la culture démocratique

En outre, la hausse du taux de corruption conduit à une profonde défiance du peuple envers les élites et le gouvernement. Dans un pays fortement corrompu, la population n'a pas confiance dans ses politiciens ni dans ses fonctionnaires. Si les citoyens éprouvent de la méfiance ou même de la peur vis-à-vis de leurs élites, ils ne vont pas participer aux votes, ne s'impliquer dans la société civile, ni participer aux débats publics.

 

De ce fait, la culture de la démocratie s'effrite. Enfin, le pire scénario est la mainmise des dirigeants sur l'État, qui peut aboutir à une totale tyrannie. Par exemple, quand la population du Venezuela s'est mise à réclamer des réformes après des années de déclin économique et de corruption galopante, la réaction des élites a été de faire emprisonner les opposants, d'employer la violence comme moyen de coercition, et d'isoler le pays.

Des dérives à travers le monde

Le dernier indice de perception de la corruption devrait nous inciter à prêter attention aux effets dramatiques de ce type de crime sur le fonctionnement interne des démocraties. Outre le Venezuela, ce genre de dérive préoccupante concerne le Guatemala, la Turquie, la Hongrie et même les États-Unis. Ces cas et bien d'autres démontrent que la démocratie est un joyau précieux sur lequel il convient de veiller en permanence.

 

Par : Bertrand Venard

Honte au jeu de la corruption qui détruit le nom d'un pays

 Brisez votre silence et protestez contre la corruption

 Les gens corrompent le pouvoir
et le pouvoir corrompt les gens

Pensez à l'amélioration de votre nation et évitez la corruption

Dans une démocratie, pas de place
pour la corruption

10 conseils pour prévenir les risques de corruption dans votre institution

1. S’approprier la démarche anticorruption

Le combat contre la corruption ne repose pas simplement sur la mise en œuvre des règles pénales. Tous les Etats qui luttent contre ce phénomène s’accordent sur la nécessité de conduire une action préventive et d’y associer la société civile. Chaque institution peut en effet agir, à son niveau, afin de prévenir et de détecter les manquements à la probité. Toute entreprise, toute administration ou toute association désireuse de prévenir efficacement la corruption, doit concevoir un dispositif anticorruption interne.

2. Sensibiliser le sommet de la hiérarchie

La prévention de la corruption ne consiste pas en une affichage de bonnes intentions mais nécessite l’implication des échelons dirigeants de votre institution, c’est-à-dire des plus hauts sommets de l’exécutif et de l’organe délibérant. L’efficacité du dispositif repose sur une cohérence entre les actions mises en œuvre au sein de l’institution et le discours managérial : il faut joindre l’acte à la parole.

3. Cartographier les risques

La description des processus de travail au sein de votre institution est cruciale : posez-vous les bonnes questions. Comment sont effectués les recrutements ? Comment sont passés les marchés ? Comment sont prises les décisions courantes ? Pour chacun des processus identifiés, vous pouvez ainsi évaluer à chaque étape le risque de corruption et adapter en conséquence vos méthodes de travail. Par exemple, une banque qui ouvre un nouveau compte peut déléguer cette fonction à un chargé de clientèle. Mais si le client présente un certain niveau de risque, la décision sera prise de déléguer la décision à un directeur d’agence voire à un échelon de direction régionale. De même, une collectivité qui passe un marché peut organiser la décision d’une manière collégiale lorsqu’un risque est identifié.

4. Avoir une approche exhaustive

La cartographie des risques ne doit pas être uniquement effectuée sur une partie de vos activités. L’expérience montre que les actes répréhensibles se concentrent dans les domaines dans lesquels aucun contrôle ne s’exerce. Ne donnez pas de signal restrictif quant au périmètre des efforts de prévention de la corruption. Par exemple, l’activité anticorruption ne peut être limitée au périmètre interne de votre institution en laissant de côté l’analyse des relations avec les tiers (fournisseurs etc).

5. S’attacher aux enjeux de corruption et pas seulement aux enjeux financiers

Il est courant d’adapter les efforts d’une institution en fonction des enjeux financiers de telle ou telle décision. En matière de prévention de la corruption, soyez vigilant. Cette approche par enjeu ne doit pas conduire à négliger des actes à faible incidence financière, qui sont parfois des occasions de comportements à proscrire.

6. Définir un code de conduite obligatoire

Le code de conduite anticorruption décrit les comportements à observer dans les situations à risque, et précise les sanctions en cas de comportement non autorisé. Il ne doit pas s’agir simplement d’un code de « bonne conduite », mais de normes permettant aux acteurs de faire la distinction entre les actions souhaitées et les actions interdites. A cet égard, le code de conduite est un élément du règlement intérieur de votre institution.

7. Mettre en place un contrôle interne

Si votre institution dispose déjà d’outils de contrôle ou d’audit interne, la démarche anticorruption peut être introduite assez facilement comme une déclinaison du travail déjà accompli, avec pour objectif la maîtrise des risques de corruption. Si ce dispositif n’existe pas, vous pouvez adapter les règles de délégation de signature en fonction des enjeux, ou encore organiser un contrôle mutuel entre les agents. Il peut s’agir également de se soumettre à une publication obligatoire de certaines décisions. Dans tous les cas, le dispositif de contrôle interne doit donner lieu à un examen régulier par les autorités dirigeantes, pour adapter les actions anticorruption en fonction des situations rencontrées.

8. Mettre en œuvre un dispositif d’alerte interne et protéger les lanceurs d’alerte

La mise en place d’un dispositif anticorruption efficace réduit considérablement le risque de mise en cause de l’institution et de ses dirigeants. Elle ne supprime évidemment pas le risque de survenance d’actes isolés de corruption contre lesquels les dispositifs collectifs de prévention ne peuvent rien. Pour prévenir efficacement de tels actes, il convient d’organiser la remontée des alertes par un circuit d’information efficace et d’accorder tout le soin nécessaire à leur traitement. Les personnes qui prennent le risque de s’exposer en révélant des faits délictueux ou à risques doivent être protégées. La loi du 9 décembre 2016 pose comme une exigence la protection des lanceurs d’alerte.

9. Former les personnels et les responsables

La formation est une pièce importante d’un bon dispositif anticorruption. L’expérience montre que la connaissance des comportements à risque est parfois insuffisante. Pour économiser les ressources, une formation en cascade (formation de formateurs) qui permet la diffusion rapide des bonnes pratiques peut être envisagée.

10. Solliciter l’Organisation Modiale de Sécurité Anti Corrupion

Pour la mise en œuvre du programme anticorruption, ou pour le traitement de situations identifiées dans le passé, vous pouvez recevoir des conseils ou obtenir des réponses de l’Organisation Mondiale de Sécurité Anti Corruption. Les statuts lui confie en effet cette mission de conseil qu’elle peut exercer à l’égard de toutes personnes, publiques ou privées, physiques ou morales. L'OMSAC se tient prête à accompagner les acteurs désireux de concevoir un bon dispositif anticorruption, afin d’assurer par leur exemple la diffusion des bonnes pratiques.

Pour aller plus loin, vous pouvez aussi vous autoévaluer à l’aide du questionnaire accessible sur ce lien de notre département juriqiue. Des recommandations détaillées concernant les différentes rubriques du dispositif international anticorruption sont également disponibles.