Acerca of

 Criminality 

Crime and criminality

The notions of "crime" and "criminality" are so polysemous that there is no other way than to propose, as a preliminary point, a definition that is more sociological than legal. In this perspective, we consider as criminals or delinquents all the behaviors that a legislator incriminates by threatening the person responsible for a sentence.

 

In this definition, there is no crime per se. An act is qualified as criminal under the action of a legitimate power which sanctions certain behaviors. For philosophers, moralists or jurists, the transgression of a  prohibited  can be characterized as criminal, regardless of the ability of the  institutions  to identify its author more or less correctly; it follows from this the belief in the existence of a “real criminality” which would be constituted only by the total number of transgressed acts accompanied by a penalty, which the perpetrators are more or less aware of having committed.

Alongside this theoretical conception of "real criminality", which would exist virtually without the slightest beginning of proof, there is a second conception, carried by jurists: "legal criminality". This includes all penalized acts whose perpetrators are identified by institutions specializing in their identification and repression (judicial statistics), and punished by fines or deprivation of liberty (prison statistics).

 

This extremely restrictive legalistic conception of crime only takes into account, rigorously, those responsible for acts qualified as “felony or misdemeanor”, and punished as such. All "perpetrators" presumed innocent until justice has found them guilty should be strictly ignored from the scope of institutional analysis. Obviously, this is never the case, even among the most legalistic jurists. Everything then happens as if ...

The fear of transnational organized crime has grown steadily during the period between the fall of the Berlin Wall and the collapse of the World Trade Center. Succeeding the threat of the expansion of communism, this new fear was not without similarities to that of the international networks of "hyperterrorism", now predominant, and could easily come back to the forefront thanks to such or such auspicious news.

How did the consensus around this transnational threat come about? The question is important because, despite the profusion of speeches on this theme, the uncertainties weighing on its definition, the empirical foundations of this concept and the nature of the danger it represents at the global level are far from being resolved. Let us go further: it would even be preferable to abandon this too globalizing approach, in favor of the analysis of the different forms of transnational illicit economic practices, the existence of which is much less questionable.

The formulation of an international problem

During the 1990s, the concept of transnational organized crime met with considerable success and circulated in many professional circles. An impressive list of books, specialized journals, Internet sites, study and research centers have been devoted to him. However, this success owes nothing to the precision of the concept, as evidenced by incessant difficulties of definition, which are of at least two orders.

 

First, the terms "organized crime" or "criminal organizations" have always given rise to controversy. When a consensus appears between the States on the need to fight against these forms of delinquency, the definitions adopted appear to be formidably broad. Thus, in Palermo, in December 2000, the 120 signatory countries of the United Nations Convention against Transnational Organized Crime agreed to define organized criminal groups as "structured groups of three or more people, existing for some time and acting in concert for the purpose of committing one or more serious offenses or offenses established in accordance with this Convention in order to obtain, directly or indirectly, a financial or other material advantage "(United Nations, General Assembly, 2000, p. 4 ).

Such a definition takes us away from common representations of criminal organizations, including for example, if we think about it, political parties engaged in illicit financing operations or companies anxious to conquer, by all means, new markets. . Many experts therefore attribute additional properties to criminal or mafia organizations: rooted locally and closely linked to a given population, they are considered to be hierarchical secret societies, engaged in legal and illegal enterprises and ready to resort to violence and to corruption to increase their profits. Their ethnic, clan or family origin, their conspiratorial character and their relative conformity to the model of the Sicilian mafia are frequently underlined.

The definition of the transnational nature of organized crime represents a second difficulty. According to the United Nations definition, an offense is transnational when it is committed in more than one State, that its preparation takes place at least partially outside the State in which it is committed, that the group that commits it operates in several States or that it produces "substantial effects in another State" (United Nations, General Assembly, 2000, p. 5).

 

In these conditions, transnational organized crime mainly represents the transnational activities of criminal organizations. But, beyond the practices, this expression also tends to unify the various criminal organizations whose territorial base is national. Where they come from, they are supposed to share a similar form of organization, interests and objectives. They are likely to come together, get along, share a vision of the world and represent a threat to the international community as a whole.

 

Transnational organized crime thus refers to a network of mafias serving common illicit objectives. This conception opens up the prospect of a global conspiracy. Claire Sterling, an investigative journalist known for having, in the 1980s, written a book on global terrorist networks, was able to describe, in the early 1990s, the summits of a sort of mafia G6 that she calls " Crime-Intern "or" Worldwide Mafia International ", made up of Americans, Colombians, Italians, Japanese, Chinese from Hong Kong and Russians, eager to share markets and place the world under their control (Sterling , 1994). This idea, as frightening as it is attractive, has spread in many think tanks specializing in security issues (Raine and Cilluffo, 1994), in certain American political circles, as well as among many experts, journalists and researchers.

Despite these inaccuracies, criminal organizations are almost unanimously considered to be more or less specialized enterprises, each combining in its own way legal and illegal activities. The latter correspond to three groups: attacks - possibly violent - against people and property, the organization of highly remunerative illicit trafficking (counterfeiting, drug trafficking, arms trafficking, etc.), and economic and criminal crime. business, that is to say, among others, scams, fraud, corruption or money laundering. They seek to own rents and monopolies, as well as to increase their number of activities, in order to maximize their profits.

Arson is one of the three major crimes, the other two being homicide
and sexual assault

Pyromania is now classified as Impulse Control Disorder according to the classification of the American Psychiatric Association

How has globalization transformed the actors and practices of organized crime?

Criminal organizations did not wait until the 1970s to develop transnational activities, but the latter undoubtedly benefited from financial globalization, that is to say from the deregulation and expansion of international financial markets. These developments have provided new means and techniques to conceal illicit income and invest it in the legal economy. Dialectically, the increase in transnational illicit capital flows has probably contributed to the development of financial markets.

 

Other changes, such as the development of transport and new information and communication technologies, have simultaneously affected the transnational activities of criminal organizations, without however fundamentally changing their nature. As a result, the illicit products at the origin of international trafficking have certainly grown in volume and diversified. Finally, the collapse of the communist states has produced several effects, by spatially expanding the markets for illicit products, by offering tempting investment opportunities (in particular which have arisen thanks to privatization programs) and by promoting the emergence of new criminal organizations capable of carrying out transnational activity.

 

The post-bipolar context has also deprived some guerrillas of their sources of funding:  "The criminal resource has thus taken the place of the strategic resource represented, a few years earlier, by obedience to Moscow or Washington". The evolution of the world over the past three decades has thus favored the increase in the number of criminal organizations and products subject to illicit trafficking, and may have facilitated the penetration of capital of illicit origin into the legal economy.

For these reasons, should we consider that the threat has fundamentally changed? In any case, this is what most experts say. We must first agree on the nature of the dangers involved. Those who are convinced of the existence of an anarchic international society of mafias, like that of the States, believe that it probably represents "the major threat to the world system in the 1990s and beyond".

 

It is first of all the very foundations of state authority that are threatened. This conviction is nothing new: whatever one thinks about it, Cosa Nostra has often been presented as a "counter-government" which, beyond the illicit activities which it carries out, challenges the State by collecting revenue. and using violence to achieve his ends. The increase in the number of criminal organizations, all apprehended from the Sicilian model, has led to an extension of this threat. In Russia, the fear of a "great criminal revolution", of a seizure of power by the criminal milieu, was frequently expressed during the 1990s.

But the phenomenon also affects Western democracies. In the United States, the proliferation of criminal organizations of foreign origin and the expansion of their transnational activities have worried many observers, who are quick to mention a threat to national security (Naylor, 1995). Criminal organizations not only conquer the territory and harm the economic interests of the country, but they threaten the political regime and the founding values of the United States.

 

Many American politicians in the early 1990s may have regarded "organized crime as the new communism", or that "winning the cold war is nothing when we are on the verge of losing the war. against another tyranny ". Louise Shelley, known for her work on Russia, presents transnational organized crime as a new form of authoritarianism, capable of destabilizing the most consolidated democracies. This logic of confrontation leads the most radical experts in the fight against organized crime to evoke the imminence of a new world war.

Financial markets and the international economy are also in danger. While some insist on the symbiotic nature of the relationship between the development of finance and that of organized crime, others note that illicit capital flows can, for example, distort competition in certain areas (arms market, for example), damage the reputation of financial centers or banking establishments, or even destabilize national economies (Fabre, 1999). Voices are being raised within international financial institutions and the business community to denounce the growing weight of illicit capital in transnational financial transactions.

Food for thought

Acerca de

 Criminalité 

Crime et criminalité

Les notions de « crime » et de « criminalité » sont si polysémiques qu'il n'existe pas d'autre moyen que d'en proposer, à titre liminaire, une définition plutôt sociologique que juridique. Dans cette perspective, on considère comme criminels ou délinquants tous les comportements qu'un législateur incrimine en menaçant le responsable d'une peine.

 

Dans cette définition, il n'existe pas de crime en soi. Un acte est qualifié de criminel sous l'action d'un pouvoir légitime qui sanctionne certains comportements. Pour des philosophes, des moralistes ou des juristes, la transgression d'un interdit peut être qualifiée de criminelle, indépendamment de la capacité des institutions à identifier plus ou moins correctement son auteur ; il en découle la croyance en l'existence d'une « criminalité réelle » qui serait uniquement constituée par le nombre total d'actes transgressés assortis d'une peine, que des auteurs auraient plus ou moins conscience d'avoir commis.

À côté de cette conception théorique d'une « criminalité réelle », qui existerait virtuellement sans le moindre commencement de preuve, existe une seconde conception, portée par les juristes : la « criminalité légale ». Celle-ci comprend l'ensemble des actes pénalisés dont les auteurs sont repérés par les institutions spécialisées dans leur identification et leur répression (statistiques judiciaires), et réprimés par des amendes ou des privations de liberté (statistiques pénitentiaires).

 

Cette conception légaliste, extrêmement restrictive de la criminalité, ne tient compte, rigoureusement, que des auteurs reconnus responsables d'actes qualifiés de « crime ou délit », et sanctionnés à ce titre. Tous les « auteurs » présumés innocents jusqu'à ce que la justice les ait reconnus coupables devraient en toute rigueur être ignorés du champ de l'analyse institutionnelle. Or, à l'évidence, ce n'est jamais le cas, même parmi les juristes les plus légalistes. Tout se passe alors comme si...

La peur de la criminalité organisée transnationale (transnational ou global organized crime) n'a cessé de croître durant la période qui a séparé la chute du mur de Berlin de l'effondrement du World Trade Center. Succédant à la menace de l'expansion du communisme, cette nouvelle peur n'était pas sans similitudes avec celle des réseaux internationaux de l'"hyperterrorisme", désormais prédominante, et pourrait aisément revenir sur le devant de la scène à la faveur de telle ou telle actualité propice.

Comment le consensus autour de cette menace transnationale s'est-il formé ? La question est importante car, en dépit de la profusion des discours sur ce thème, les incertitudes qui pèsent sur sa définition, les fondements empiriques de ce concept et la nature du danger qu'il représente au niveau mondial sont loin d'être levés. Allons plus loin : il serait même préférable d'abandonner cette approche trop globalisante, au profit de l'analyse des différentes formes de pratiques économiques illicites transnationales, dont l'existence est beaucoup moins contestable.

La formulation d'un problème international

Au cours des années 90, le concept de criminalité organisée transnationale a rencontré un succès considérable et a circulé dans de nombreux milieux professionnels. Une liste impressionnante d'ouvrages, de revues spécialisées, de sites Internet, de centres d'études et de recherches lui ont été consacrés. Or, ce succès ne doit rien à la précision du concept, comme en témoignent d'incessantes difficultés de définition, lesquelles sont de deux ordres au moins.

 

D'abord, les expressions " criminalité organisée " ou " organisations criminelles " ont toujours suscité des controverses. Lorsqu'un consensus apparaît entre les Etats sur la nécessité de lutter contre ces formes de délinquance, les définitions retenues paraissent formidablement étendues. Ainsi, à Palerme, en décembre 2000, les 120 pays signataires de la Convention des Nations unies contre la criminalité transnationale organisée se sont accordés à définir les groupes criminels organisés comme des "groupes structurés de trois personnes ou plus, existant depuis un certain temps et agissant de concert dans le but de commettre une ou plusieurs infractions graves ou infractions établies conformément à la présente Convention  pour en tirer, directement ou indirectement, un avantage financier ou un autre avantage matériel" (Nations unies, Assemblée générale, 2000, p. 4).

Une telle définition nous éloigne des représentations communes sur les organisations criminelles, en incluant par exemple, si l'on y réfléchit, les partis politiques engagés dans des opérations illicites de financement ou les entreprises soucieuses de conquérir, par tous les moyens, de nouveaux marchés. Aussi de nombreux experts attribuent-ils des propriétés supplémentaires aux organisations criminelles ou mafieuses : enracinées localement et étroitement liées à une population donnée, elles sont considérées comme des sociétés secrètes hiérarchisées, engagées dans des entreprises licites et illicites et prêtes à recourir à la violence et à la corruption pour accroître leurs profits. On souligne fréquemment leur origine ethnique, clanique ou familiale, leur caractère conspirateur et leur relative conformité au modèle de la mafia sicilienne.

La définition du caractère transnational de la criminalité organisée représente une seconde difficulté. Selon la définition des Nations unies, une infraction est transnationale lorsqu'elle est commise dans plus d'un Etat, que sa préparation s'effectue au moins partiellement hors de l'Etat dans lequel elle est commise, que le groupe qui la commet opère dans plusieurs Etats ou qu'elle produit des "effets substantiels dans un autre Etat" (Nations unies, Assemblée générale, 2000, p. 5).

 

Dans ces conditions, la criminalité organisée transnationale représente principalement les activités transnationales des organisations criminelles. Mais, au-delà des pratiques, cette expression tend également à unifier les différentes organisations criminelles dont la base territoriale est nationale. D'où quelles viennent, ces dernières sont censées partager un mode d'organisation, des intérêts et des objectifs similaires. Elles sont susceptibles de s'associer, de s'entendre, de partager une vision du monde et de représenter une menace pour la communauté internationale dans son ensemble.

 

La criminalité organisée transnationale désigne ainsi un réseau de mafias au service d'objectifs illicites communs. Cette conception ouvre la perspective d'une conspiration mondiale. Claire Sterling, journaliste d'investigation connue pour avoir, dans les années 80, rédigé un ouvrage sur les réseaux terroristes mondiaux, a ainsi pu décrire, au début des années 90, les sommets d'une sorte de G6 mafieux qu'elle appelle "Crime-Intern" ou "Worldwide Mafia International", composé d'Américains, de Colombiens, d'Italiens, de Japonais, de Chinois de Hongkong et de Russes, désireux de se partager les marchés et de placer le monde sous leur coupe (Sterling, 1994). Cette idée, aussi effrayante que séduisante, s'est propagée dans de nombreux think tanks spécialisés dans les questions de sécurité (Raine et Cilluffo, 1994), dans certains milieux politiques américains, ainsi que chez de nombreux experts, journalistes ou chercheurs.

En dépit de ces imprécisions, les organisations criminelles sont presque unanimement considérées comme des entreprises plus ou moins spécialisées, combinant chacune à leur manière activités licites et illicites. Ces dernières correspondent à trois ensembles : les atteintes - éventuellement violentes - contre les personnes et les biens, l'organisation de trafics illicites fort rémunérateurs (contrefaçon, trafic de drogue, d'armes...), et la criminalité économique et d'affaires, c'est-à-dire, entre autres, les escroqueries, les fraudes, la corruption ou le blanchiment. Elles cherchent à détenir des rentes et des monopoles, ainsi qu'à accroître leur nombre d'activités, afin de maximiser leurs profit.

L'incendie volontaire constitue l'un des trois crimes majeurs, les deux autres étant l'homicide
et l'agression sexuelle

La pyromanie est maintenant rangée dans les troubles du contrôle des impulsions selon la classification de l'Association Psychiatrique Américaine

En quoi la mondialisation a-t-elle transformé les acteurs et les pratiques de la criminalité organisée ?

Les organisations criminelles n'ont pas attendu les années 70 pour développer des activités transnationales, mais ces dernières ont sans doute bénéficié de la mondialisation financière, c'est-à-dire de la déréglementation et de l'expansion des marchés financiers internationaux. Ces évolutions ont fourni de nouveaux moyens et techniques pour dissimuler des revenus d'origine illicite et les investir dans l'économie légale. De manière dialectique, l'accroissement des flux transnationaux de capitaux illicites a vraisemblablement contribué au déve loppement des marchés financiers.

 

D'autres changements, tels que le développement des transports et des nouvelles technologies d'information et de communication, ont simultanément affecté les activités transnationales des organisations criminelles, sans toutefois en modifier fondamentalement la nature. En conséquence, les produits illicites à l'origine de trafics internationaux ont certainement crû en volume et se sont diversifiés. Enfin, l'effondrement des Etats communistes a produit plusieurs effets, en étendant spatialement les marchés pour les produits illicites, en offrant d'alléchantes opportunités d'investissement (notamment apparues à la faveur des programmes de privatisation) et en favorisant l'émergence de nouvelles organisations criminelles capables de mener une activité transnationale.

 

Le contexte post-bipolaire a en outre privé certaines guérillas de leurs sources de financement : "La ressource criminelle a ainsi pris la place de la ressource stratégique que représentait, quelques années auparavant, l'obédience à Moscou ou à Washington". L'évolution du monde depuis trois décennies a ainsi pu favoriser l'augmentation du nombre d'organisations criminelles et de produits sujets à un trafic illicite, et a pu faciliter la pénétration des capitaux d'origine illicite dans l'économie légale.

Doit-on pour ces raisons considérer que la menace a fondamentalement changé ? C'est en tout cas ce qu'avancent la plupart des experts. Il faut d'abord s'entendre sur la nature des dangers encourus. Ceux qui sont convaincus de l'existence d'une société internationale anarchique de mafias, à l'image de celle des Etats, estiment qu'elle représente vraisemblablement "la menace majeure pour le système mondial dans les années 90 et au-delà".

 

Ce sont d'abord les fondements mêmes de l'autorité étatique qui sont menacés. Cette conviction n'a rien de nouveau : quoi qu'on en pense, Cosa Nostra a souvent été présentée comme un "contre-gouvernement" qui, au-delà des activités illicites qu'il exerce, défie l'Etat en percevant des recettes et en usant de la violence pour parvenir à ses fins. L'augmentation du nombre d'organisations criminelles, toutes appréhendées à partir du modèle sicilien, a conduit à une extension de cette menace. En Russie, la crainte d'une "grande révolution criminelle", d'une captation du pouvoir par le milieu criminel, s'est fréquemment exprimée au cours des années 90.

Mais le phénomène affecte également les démocraties occidentales. Aux Etats-Unis, la multiplication des organisations criminelles d'origine étrangère et l'expansion de leurs activités transnationales ont inquiété de nombreux observateurs, prompts à évoquer une menace pour la sécurité nationale (Naylor, 1995). Non seulement les organisations criminelles conquièrent le territoire et nuisent aux intérêts économiques du pays, mais elles menacent le régime politique et les valeurs fondatrices des Etats-Unis.

 

Nombreux sont les responsables politiques américains qui, au début des années 90, ont pu considérer que "la criminalité organisée est le nouveau communisme", ou qu'"avoir gagné la guerre froide ne représente rien alors que nous sommes en passe de perdre la guerre contre une autre tyrannie". Louise Shelley, connue pour ses travaux sur la Russie, présente la criminalité organisée transnationale comme une nouvelle forme d'autoritarisme, capable de déstabiliser les démocraties les mieux consolidées. Cette logique d'affrontement conduit les plus radicaux des experts de la lutte contre la criminalité organisée à évoquer l'imminence d'une nouvelle guerre mondiale.

Les marchés financiers et l'économie internationale sont également en danger. Si certains insistent sur le caractère symbiotique des relations entre le développement de la finance et celui de la criminalité organisée, d'autres relèvent que les flux de capitaux illicites peuvent, par exemple, distordre la concurrence dans certains domaines (marché de l'armement, par exemple), nuire à la réputation de places financières ou d'établissements bancaires, voire déstabiliser des économies nationales (Fabre, 1999). Des voix s'élèvent, au sein des institutions financières internationales et des milieux d'affaires, pour dénoncer le poids croissant des capitaux d'origine illicite dans les transactions financières transnationales.

Matière à réflexion